It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:13 am

Post subject: Need help deciding on a class/race
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 9:53 pm 

Hi guys. I am fairly new to 4e as the only campaign I played lasted a small cave/mine homebrew that has ended due to GM priority changes. I have been messing with the character spread sheet, so I am getting a hang of most of the basics.

The issue I have is that our group has normally 4 or 5 core players and a few stragglers. Our current DM has limited our characters to the 3 phb's and we have to fill the 4 roles before we can have multiples of them, and everyone else is dropping the ball on communicating their choices. So, being the nice guy of the group, I need a character able to deal with those stragglers being there and not being there. If you guys have any advice that could help, even if its to stop being nice and do what I want, I would certainly appreciate it. Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Need help deciding on a class/race
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 10:39 pm 

There's nothing wrong with being a nice guy in D&D - it's a cooperative game. You are certainly free to do whatever you want, and you should probably have some idea of what your limits are - if the game becomes more trouble than it's worth, you don't owe them your helpful presence.

If you have the time and the inclination, build two solid characters and be prepared to play either. The most reliably useful roles are Striker and Leader, so one each of those is about as much as you can do to be prepared to help the group and fill any hole, given the overall lack of communication. If there is a role that particularly appeals to you, obviously you should create a character of that role first.

If you would like specific help on building one or more characters, we'd be happy to make suggestions or offer constructive criticism of anything you put up here.

Hopefully this campaign will be a little smoother once it gets going. Have Fun!

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 10:35 am